top of page

Top 10 Books for Architectural Lighting Design

By: Nelca Roco, UAP, LEED AP


The secret to becoming successful in the lighting design profession is to never stop learning.




When I started my career in lighting design, I don't know anything except the small percentage of knowledge I learned in college in our Electrical and Interior design subjects.


I never thought that lighting design is huge! I thought it is just a small part of the Architecture and Electrical Engineering profession. I thought it was just a small part of the two subjects in college.


It's a mistake. I realized I don't know anything about lighting and lighting design when I started my job. Luckily our company is very supportive in training the newbies.


I became passionate and I want to learn more. I read a lot of books. I learn the software, and I joined different groups and organizations related to lighting.


Books are the most influential in my newfound passion. I collected them and read them all with all my heart. You have no idea how much I collected books about lighting design just to make sure I will be the best in my work.


Here are the top 10 books about architectural lighting which I must say "Thank you!" to these authors.


These are the books published or written by lighting designers. These lighting designers are the people who experienced lighting design first hand. That’s why their experience is valuable to read. One of my favourite books is “Lighting Design Basics” by Karlen and Benya.


Below is the list of my top ten lighting design books:

1. Lighting Design Basics 3rd Edition

2. Lit Environment 1st Edition

7. Fundamentals of Lighting [Paperback] [2008] 1 Ed. Susan M. Winchip

8. The Design of Lighting Peter Tregenza, David Loe

9. Architectural Lighting Design: A Practical Guide 2019

10. Architectural Lighting: Designing With Light And Space 1st Edition


Try reading one of these and you will become addicted.

Receive PDF and video files for Lighting Design Techniques

bottom of page